Rapids we have been assigned a ‘Class’ from 1 to 6 based on an international standard where 1 is least dangerous and 6 is most dangerous. Here is a summary of the whitewater classification system.

Remember – always scout your rapids!

Class 1 Rapids

Class 1

Moving water with a few riffles and small  waves, few or no obstructions.

Class 2 Rapids

Class 2

Easy rapids with waves up to 1 meter high, wide clear channels. Some maneuvering is required.

Class 3

Rapids with high, irregular waves capable of swamping an open canoe. Narrow channels that often require complex maneuvering.

Class 4 Rapids

Class 4

Long; difficult rapids with constricted passages that often require precise maneuvering in very turbulent waters. Rescue conditions are difficult. Generally not possible for open canoes. Paddlers must have ability to roll their craft upright if it is flipped.

Class 5 Rapids

Class 5

Extremely difficult, long and very turbulent rapids with complicated routes. Rescue conditions are difficult. Significant hazard to life in the event of a mishap.

classClass 6 Rapids

Class 6

All the difficulties of Class 5 rapids carried to the extreme of navigability. Very dangerous, for experts with team and rescue support only.

What do you think?Vote DownVote Up

Leave a Reply

Notify of